[SOLVED] Kernel Panics on Sony VAIO Duo 13 with Ubuntu 16.10 Kernel 4.8

What worked for me: Upgrading to the latest stable mainline Linux kernel which at the time of writing this was 4.10.2, I installed the generic flavor since I haven’t experience any latency issues.

Do comment if you’re on a similar computer, I’d love to hear about your experience with the FOSS world.

Oh the Kernel Panics…

I installed Ubuntu 16.10 on the SVD13 a few days ago with the 4.8 Linux kernel. It booted just fine the first time, but after I restarted my Sony VAIO Duo 13 and selected the Ubuntu grub entry, it froze after a few seconds.

I spent some two days trying to get the WIFI to work with the Linux Broadcom drivers for the SVD13, after giving up several times it finally worked, no easy feat that was, the touch-x86 tablet linux community is really silent about this kinda stuff unless it’s Surface Pro something.

After that I tried rebooting several times, occasionally it’d boot up normally but most of the time the kernel started panicking, no real error message, just the usual error dumps here and there.

Check the LOGS they said

And that I did, dmesg, /var/logs/*… Nope! Nothing.

I tried upgrading from 4.8.something-22 to 4.8.something-48 and that didn’t really change anything. The kernel would still panic 8 out of 10 times on start up.

Recovery Mode, Thank You Ubuntu

Booting into the Recovery mode worked every single time, running with the LLVM-based graphics (no real drivers) worked. That was weird since I’ve never seen Intel’s integrated cards fail on Linux.

Upgrading to Linux Kernel 4.10.2 from 4.8.*

After running upgrades, I started seeing two errors pop up in the terminal:

W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/i915/kbl_guc_ver9_14.bin for module i915
W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/i915/bxt_guc_ver8_7.bin for module i915

That problem had a quick solution outlined in an answer on AskUbuntu. Worked for me.

After doing that I upgraded to the 4.10.2 Linux Kernel (the Ubuntu builds), if you’re doing something similar this Ubuntu Wiki Mainline Builds page can be really helpful.

Here’s how I did it (for my 64bit OS), I downloaded these files to a new empty directory for easy installation:

Then I opened a terminal and:

$ cd to/where/you/put/the/files
$ sudo dpkg -i *.deb

This installed all the .deb files nice and clean 🙂

YAY! It works

After rebooting my computer 6 times successfully in a row, I assume that this has resolved the problem. Feel free to add your comments/questions below. I hope this helps someone save some time.

Leave a Reply

